Wk2 – Artist Interview –Maccabee Shelley

IMG_0184 IMG_0176 IMG_0178 IMG_0177 IMG_0183 IMG_0181

I am a student who is pre-major in Film and Electronic Arts so art class is required to me to get into my major. Art 110 class is very interesting, and is deferent from other courses. Students can go out of the classroom and visit the galleries during the class time. It is fun and relaxing. On Thursday, January 29th, my Art 110 class went to the CSULB SOA Gallery Complex for interview the artists and visit their artistic works.

There are four galleries at the CSULB SOA Gallery Complex. When I arrived there, I didn’t know which galleries I prefer to visit. Suddenly, I discovered that there was a bunch of people in the GATOV WEST gallery so I walked in. Maccabee Shelley, an artist who uses valueless glass and ceramic pieces to create an artistic work named No Redemption Value, is presenting his show. He explained that he collected every valueless glass and ceramic bottles that he could use for his artistic work. After he collected the bottles, he crushed them, and put them into a smelter to heat up for melting them. At deferent temperatures, the glass and ceramic will blend together to become different appearances.

After I visited Maccabee Shelley’s exhibition, an idea came to my mind. I discovered that some of his artistic works were really like a kind of Chinese precious stones, jade. As a Chinese, I know very well that Chinese people like to put some jade stones somewhere at home because of geomancy. Some people can’t afford to real jade stones so they buy plastic fake jade as a substitute. I think that Maccabee Shelley’s works are very good substitutes of jade because they are more artistic, and the texture is closer to jade and much better than plastic products. Also, his work is very environmental. The environment will be better, and valueless things will never be valueless if people have the same idea as Maccabee Shelley.

Leave a Reply

