Wk4 – Classmate Interview – Jeremy Lai

IMG_0257 IMG_0260 IMG_0261

On Thursday, February 12th, I went to the CSULB SOA Gallery Complex to interview the artists and visit the galleries. I went to Andrea Albarran’s exhibition and listened to her presentation of her artistic works. After I was experiencing the artistic works, a classmate was taking pictures of the artistic works. I came up to him and ask for having an interview with him. He agreed, and he was so nice to me even though he had already had an interview with others. Therefore, we began to interview with each other.

His name is Jeremy Lai. He is a transfer student who is major in Film and Electronic Arts. My major is Film and Electronic Arts too, so it is very happy to meet a person who has the same major like me. He told me that he is 21 years old. He has been here for six months. He is from Malaysia, and his mother and father are living in Malaysia. He has one older sister, one younger sister, and one older brother. What interesting about him is both of his parents’ ancestors were from China. His father’s ancestor was from Fujian, China, so his father can speak Hakka which is a dialect of Chinese. His mother’s ancestor was from Guangdong, China, and his mother can speak Cantonese and Mandarin. However, he told me that he just could speak a few words of Mandarin even though he has studied at a school which offers Mandarin courses in Malaysia for six years.

After our interview, we took pictures with each other for the blog. I found that Lai liked photography so much. His DSLR was very professional and he liked to take pictures of something which was attracting to him. Also, he told me that he wanted to go to China someday. I hope that he can realize his dreams in the future, and everything goes well with him.

Leave a Reply

