Wk13 – Artist Interview – Shihori Nakayama

img_1069

On Thursday, April 23th, when I walked into the Dutzi Gallery, I was attracted by a series of artworks. The artist of the artworks is Shihori Nakayama. The artworks were unique and fantastic in the gallery. The artworks showed some dream cartoon like the cartoon that I watched when I was little. It made me think of some kind of connection between us.

img_1069

The artist, Shihori Nakayama, explained that the exhibit as a visual journal of her life. Shihori Nakayama is a Japanese, so her artworks have a style of Japanese cartoon. That’s why it let me feel familiar with because I watched a lot of Japanese cartoon when I was little. Shihori Nakayama came to the U.S. when she was 12 years old for studying. It is very brave that going to a different country, when she was young. She said that she wanted to earn in MFA in Cal State Long Beach. She has already earned her BFA at Northridge and she is currently earning her MFA in Printmaking.

dsc_0669

After I visited her artworks, I found that Shihori Nakayama’s artworks were comprised of several small pieces. They just like every different dream or feeling of the artist. When all the small pieces come together, they become a spirit or the life of the artist. It made me think of the connections of my dream. Therefore, I realize that every day is important to me. I should cherish every single day to get a more positive life rather than just stick at home and think about future.

Leave a Reply

